Iowa Barn Foundation Barn Tours

2016 All-State Barn Tour

Our 16th year of All-State Barn Tours

2016 All-State Barn Tour, Saturday, Sept 24 and Sunday, Sept 25, 8:30am-5:30pm

Important and historic barns throughout Iowa were opened to the public during the Iowa Barn Foundation’s two-day, self-guided 2016 All-State Barn Tour Saturday, September 24 and Sunday, September 25 from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

To take a virtual tour, click on the West, Central, or East Tour.

Most barns on tour have been restored with matching grants from the Iowa Barn Foundation.

Other property owners received an Award of Distinction Award of Distinction icon from the IBF for restorations they undertook themselves.

The Iowa Barn Foundation, an all-volunteer, non-profit organization founded in 1997 by a group of folks with Iowa roots, raises money from individuals, foundations, and corporations to give matching grants to property owners to restore their barns.  The barns must be restored as closely as possible to original.  The property owner must sign a perpetual easement when receiving a grant.

This is the only group of its kind in the country.

The purpose of the tour is to encourage barn preservation in the state, to teach young people about Iowa's rich agricultural heritage, and to renew pride in this unique heritage.  Owners will discuss the barns and their histories at many stops.  Visitors are expected from around the country.  The effort has encouraged barn preservation throughout Iowa and beyond.

The tour is free although donations to support the foundation's work are appreciated.

Some of Iowa’s earliest barns will be on tour.

More information about the Iowa Barn Foundation is on this web site.

If you have specific questions, please e-mail Jolene Witt - Email

The Rimathe Barn is one of the barns that will be on the 2016 All-State Barn Tour
Rimathe Barn.

For 2016, in order to make it easier to find the barns you wish to tour, the 2016 All-State Barn Tour was divided into three divisions. And each division has three sections, defined by Counties:

The Western Division covers:

West-North Counties -
Lyon, Oscelo, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Sioux, Obrien, Clay, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, and Humboldt.

West-Center Counties -
Woodbury, Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, and Guthie.

West-South Counties -
Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Fremont, Page, and Taylor.


The Central Division covers:

Central-North Counties -
Winnebago, Worth, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Wright, and Franklin.

Central-Center Counties -
Webster, Hamilton, Hardin, Greene, Boone, Story, Marshall, Dallas, Polk, and Jasper.

Central-South Counties -
Madison, Warren, Marion, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Ringgold, Decatur, Wayne, and Appanoose.


The Eastern Division covers:

East-North Counties -
Mitchell, Howard, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Floyd, Chickasaw, Fayette, Clayton, Butler, and Bremer.

East-Center Counties -
Grundy, Blackhawk, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Tama, Benton, Linn, Jones, Jackson, Poweshiek, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Scott, and Muscatine.

East-South Counties -
Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren, and Lee.

Tour Map

      Photo below taken by Brian Vandewater.  He says. "On Memorial Day weekend, storm warnings were out...a few minutes later we got this interesting panoramic photo of clouds rolling over the barn."  Vandewater barn (Meadow Brook Farm), Orient, Iowa

storm Back to top
© 1997-2016 Iowa Barn Foundation. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without express written permission from the Iowa Barn Foundation.
Updated 09-09-16, 04-14-17.


The Iowa Barn Foundation: Helping to preserve Iowa's agricultural heritage one barn at a time.


Facebook Icon


Go to the Iowa DOT map, then click on a County.

Iowa State Map