Iowa Barn Foundation

2017 All-State Barn Tour

Our 17th year of All-State Barn Tours

Sept 23 & 24, Saturday & Sunday, 8:30am-5:30pm

Important and historic barns throughout Iowa were opened to the public during the Iowa Barn Foundation’s two-day, self-guided 2017 All-State Barn Tour, September 23 & 24, Saturday & Sunday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Most barns on tour have been restored with matching grants from the Iowa Barn Foundation.

Other barns received an Award of Distinction Award of Distinction icon from the IBF for restorations the owners undertook themselves.

The Iowa Barn Foundation, an all-volunteer, non-profit organization founded in 1997 by a group of folks with Iowa roots, raises money from individuals, foundations, and corporations to give matching grants to property owners to restore their barns. The barns must be restored as closely as possible to original. The property owner must sign a perpetual easement when receiving a grant.

This is the only group of its kind in the country.

The purpose of the tour is to encourage barn preservation in Iowa, to teach young people about Iowa's rich agricultural heritage, and to renew pride in this unique heritage. Owners will discuss the barns and their histories at many stops. Visitors are expected from around the country. The effort has encouraged barn preservation throughout Iowa and beyond.

The tour is free although donations to support the foundation's work are appreciated.

Some of Iowa’s earliest barns will be on tour.

More information about the Iowa Barn Foundation is on this web site.

The Rimathe Barn is one of the barns that will be on the 2017 All-State Barn Tour
Rimathe Barn.

The 2017 All-State Barn Tour is divided into three Areas, each with sections defined by Counties:

West Area:

Northwest Counties - Lyon, Oscelo, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Sioux, Obrien, Clay, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, and Humboldt.

West central Counties - Woodbury, Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, and Guthie.

Southwest Counties - Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Fremont, Page, and Taylor.

Central Area:

North central Counties - Winnebago, Worth, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Wright, and Franklin.

Central Counties - Webster, Hamilton, Hardin, Greene, Boone, Story, Marshall, Dallas, Polk, and Jasper.

South Central Counties - Madison, Warren, Marion, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Ringgold, Decatur, Wayne, and Appanoose.

East Area:

Northeast Counties - Mitchell, Howard, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Floyd, Chickasaw, Fayette, Clayton, Butler, and Bremer.

East center Counties - Grundy, Blackhawk, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Tama, Benton, Linn, Jones, Jackson, Poweshiek, Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, Clinton, Scott, and Muscatine.

Southeast Counties - Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren, and Lee.

Tour Map

      Below is the Smith Family Barn in northeast Iowa, built in 1917. The sixth generation of the Smith family is now operating this farm, which received an Award of Distinction from the Iowa Barn Foundation for restorations they undertook themselves.

Smith Barn Back to top
© 1997-2017 Iowa Barn Foundation. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without express written permission from the Iowa Barn Foundation.
Updated 09-05-17, 10-18-17, 04-12-18.


The Iowa Barn Foundation: Helping to preserve Iowa's agricultural heritage one barn at a time.


Facebook Icon


Go to the Iowa DOT map, then click on a County.

Iowa State Map