About

Founded in 1997, the Iowa Barn Foundation is dedicated to preserving Iowa’s rural buildings, symbols of Iowa’s early agricultural heritage. The Iowa Barn Foundation is an Iowa non-profit corporation with tax-exempt status under paragraph 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

The Iowa Barn Foundation, its board of directors and county representatives work to preserve Iowa’s agricultural history and endangered barns by educating people in Iowa – and beyond – about our rural heritage and the importance of barn preservation. This is being accomplished through the bi-annual Iowa Barn Foundation Magazine, the Iowa Barn Foundation website (this website), the annual All-State Barn Tour, and through picnics, open meetings, and through worldwide publicity in newspapers, magazines, and television.

We provide matching grants to property owners to help restore qualified barns. Also, the Iowa Barn Foundation gives Awards of Distinction icon to those property owners who restore or rehabilitate their barns at their own expense.

Board of Directors

  • Ober Anderson (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Mollie Aronowitz (Ames, Iowa)
  • Dave Austin (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Olivia Chalfant (Guthrie Center, Iowa)
  • Andrea Corcoran (Des Moines, Iowa)
  • Jeffrey Fitz-Randolph (Fairfield, Iowa)
  • Wayne Frost (Waterloo, Iowa)
  • Don Geiger (West Des Moines, Iowa)
  • Tom Hertz (Ames, Iowa)
  • Dwight Hughes (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Carrie Jones (Ocheyedon, Iowa)
  • Paul Kruse (Granger, Iowa)
  • Steve Lawler (Ogden, Iowa)
  • Eric Lyon (Toledo, Iowa)
  • Roxanne Mehlisch (Zearing, Iowa)
  • Kurt Meyer (St. Ansgar, Iowa)
  • Craig Pfantz (State Center, Iowa)
  • Carole Reichardt (Clive, Iowa)
  • Roy Reiman (Greendale, Wisconsin)
  • Jacqueline Andre Schmeal (Houston, Texas)
  • Jack Smith (Epworth, Iowa)
  • Craig Stephens (Pleasantville, Iowa)
  • Steve Sukup (Clear Lake, Iowa)
  • Kelly Tobin (Ames, Iowa)

County Representatives

For more information about County Representatives or if you would like to volunteer to fill a county rep position for a county that is unfilled, please contact: Roxanne Mehlisch at 641-751-1406 or mehlish@netins.net.

County Representative Coordinator: Craig Stephens cdstephens@fngi.net | 515-681-1009

 

  • Allamakee:
    Marlene Fenstermann
    563-382-3439
    dwf02@fenstermann.de
  • Appanoose:
    Richard Stafford
    641-390-0723
    pinponwii@me.com
    Richard Stafford II
    641-203-0620
    flintlockshotgun@gmail.com
  • Audubon:
    Bob/Janet Nelson
    712-304-5809
    Save.Ross.Elevator@gmail.com
  • Benton County:
    Scott Eggink
    319-350-8103
    scottrobin6978@yahoo.com
  • Blackhawk:
    Wayne Frost
    319-427-3531
    frostwf@lpctel.net
  • Boone:
    Steve Rimathe
    515-290-5258
    srimathe@collins-maxwell.k12.ia.us
  • Bremer:
    Keith Oltrogge
    319-984-5292
    keitho@mchsi.com
  • Buchanan:
    Jim Michels
    319-551-2155
  • Buena Vista:
    Becky Bryant
    712-213-0598
  • Calhoun:
    Larry Ellis
    712-210-0423
    redrockarabians@gmail.com
    Deann Haden
    515-576-5519
    bradluke@lvcta.com
  • Carroll:
    Kent Brant
    712-830-2241
    kbrant42@hotmail.com
  • Cass:
    Dan Dorsey
    712-249-2641
  • Cedar:
    Kas Kelly
    563-260-0869
    kaskelly@machlink.com
  • Cerro Gordo:
    Dale/Judy Mills
    641-424-1197
    641-420-9227
    cupolainn@gmail.com
  • Cherokee:
    Becky Bryant
    712-213-0598
    bbryant@evertek.net
  • Clarke:
    Ginnie Hargis & Ron McBroom
    515-834-2026
    cabot1@hughes.net
  • Clay:
    Kelli Ireland
    507-320-0542
    kellbell45@yahoo.com
  • Clinton:
    Dan/Jolene Witt
    563-212-1307
    jowitt@gmtel.net
  • Davis:
    Sharon/Bill Hardy
    641-680-2427
  • Decatur:
    Judi Partridge
    641-344-2237
    judipart1@yahoo.com
  • Des Moines:
    Dale/Julie Bartelt
    319-759-0591
    bartelt@mepotelco.net
  • Dubuque:
    Jack Smith
    563-599-3061
    jackwsmith@icloud.com
  • Emmet:
    Terrence Jensen
    515-230-8972
    tcjensen52@gmail.com
  • Fayette:
    Bob Jacobsen
    563-422-1048
    email robertjacobsen50@yahoo.com
  • Grundy:
    Rebecca Engelking
    641-366-3150
  • Guthrie:
    Kent Brant
    712-830-2241
    kbrant42@hotmail.com
  • Hamilton:
    Ron Adams
    515-368-1678
    ronadams144@gmail.com
  • Hancock:
    Thomas Chizek
    641-430-4456
    tchizek@stellarindustries.com
  • Hardin:
    Ken Starek
    641-847-30l8
    1stchurchlady@gmail.com
  • Humboldt:
    Kurt Weinert
    515-332-4467
    karalyn.weinert@gmail.com
  • Ida:
    Don Poggensee
    7l2-364-349l
    donpog@netllc.net
  • Iowa:
    Bonnie Winslow-Garvin
    319-626-7323
    bwinslow@southslope.net
  • Jackson:
    Caroline Bredekamp
    563-689-4970
  • Jasper:
    Rodney J. Hassler
    641-753-3276
    rhassler@mchsi.com
    Tyler Wilheim 402-525-1833
    wilhelm_19@hotmail.com
  • Jefferson:
    Jeffrey Fitz-Randolph
    641-472-7810
  • Johnson:
    Wilford Yoder
    319-338-6596
    weyoder820@msn.com
  • Jones:
    David McDonald
    319-389-4437
    fogebotom@yahoo.com
  • Keokuk:
    Kyle Morrison
    319-330-1001
    kdm.enterprises@gmail.com
  • Lee:
    Brian Foecke
    319-470-0329
    bjfoecke@ft.newyorklife.com
  • Linn:
    David McDonald
    319-389-4437
    fogebotom@yahoo.com
  • Lucas:
    Richard Stafford
    641-390-0723
    pinponwii@me.com
    Richard Stafford II
    641-203-0620
    flintlockshotgun@gmail.com
  • Madison:
    Ginnie Hargis/Ron McBroom
    515-834-2026
    cabot1@hughes.net
  • Mahaska:
    The Charles Oldhams
    641-969-4272
    oakknoll@iowatelecom.net
  • Marion:
    Rob/Teri Vos
    641-628-8396
    robvos@yahoo.com
  • Marshall:
    Rodney J. Hassler
    641-753-3276
    rhassler@mchsi.com
  • Monona:
    Peggy Hanner
    712-251-0405
    rphanner@gmail.com
  • Monroe:
    Richard Stafford
    641-390-0723
    pinponwii@me.com
    Richard Stafford II
    641-203-0620
    flintlockshotgun@gmail.com
  • Montgomery:
    The Montgomery County Historical Society
    712-623-2289
    mchsociet@qwestoffice.net
  • Muscatine:
    Kas Kelly
    563-263-1777
    kaskelly@machlink.com
  • O’Brien:
    Pamela Battaglioli
    712-727-3612
    dpjlioli@mtcnet.net
  • Osceola:
    Carrie Jones
    712-832-3227
    carrie@joneslawofficeplc.com
  • Pocahontas:
    Terry Ferguson
    712-845-4978
    ctferguson@ncn.net
  • Polk:
    Ober Anderson
    515-964-0964
    ojanderson@aol.com
  • Poweshiek:
    Bonnie Winslow-Garvin
    319-626-7323
    bwinslow@southslope.net
  • Sac:
    Jack/Jane Hogue
    712-668-4663
    jhogue@netins.net
  • Scott:
    Susan Frye
    319-936-1216
    susanjanefrye@gmail.com
  • Shelby:
    Dennis/Linda Heflin
    712-744-3660
    jewelray@fmctc.com
  • Story:
    Roxanne Mehlisch
    641-751-1406
    mehlisch@netins.net
    Steve Rimathe
    515-290-5258
    srimathe@collins-maxwell.k12.ia.us
  • Tama:
    Rodney J. Hassler
    641-753-3276
    rhassler@mchsi.com
  • Taylor:
    Kelly Tobin
    712-370-0321. kellyirene@gmail.com
  • Van Buren:
    Darlene/David McQuoid
    3l9-397-2340
  • Wapello:
    David Cobler
    641-777-7202
    coblerfarming@gmail.com
  • Warren:
    Cheryl Eftink
    641-297-2239
    eftinks@gmail.com
    515-229-3906
  • Washington:
    Jerry Strabala
    319-461-0829
    strabe@cloudburst9.net
    Wilford Yoder
    319-338-6596
    weyoder820@msn.com
  • Wayne:
    Richard Stafford
    641-390-0723
    pinponwii@me.com
  • Webster:
    Deann Haden
    515-576-5519
    bradluke@lvcta.com
    deann@legacytours.travel
  • Winneshiek:
    Marlene Fenstermann
    563-382-3439
    dwf02@fenstermann.de
  • Woodbury:
    Peggy Hanner
    712-251-0405
    rphanner@gmail.com