Scroll Top


Founded in 1997, the Iowa Barn Foundation is dedicated to preserving Iowa’s rural buildings, symbols of Iowa’s early agricultural heritage. The Iowa Barn Foundation is an Iowa non-profit corporation with tax-exempt status under paragraph 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

The Iowa Barn Foundation, its board of directors and county representatives work to preserve Iowa’s agricultural history and endangered barns by educating people in Iowa – and beyond – about our rural heritage and the importance of barn preservation. This is being accomplished through the bi-annual Iowa Barn Foundation Magazine, the Iowa Barn Foundation website (this website), the annual All-State Barn Tour, and through picnics, open meetings, and through worldwide publicity in newspapers, magazines, and television.

We provide matching grants to property owners to help restore qualified barns.   We also recognize barn owners who rehabilitate their barns at their own expense with our Award of Distinction and Preservation Award programs.

Please see contact information below for our Board of Directors and County Representatives.

Board of Directors

  • Ober Anderson (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Dave Austin (Ankeny, Iowa)
  • Jim Boeding (Decorah, Iowa)
  • Olivia Chalfant (Guthrie Center, Iowa)
  • Andrea Corcoran (Des Moines, Iowa)
  • Wayne Frost (Waterloo, Iowa)
  • Tom Hertz (Ames, Iowa)
  • Dwight Hughes (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Carrie Jones (Ocheyedon, Iowa)
  • Paul Kruse (Granger, Iowa)
  • Steve Lawler (Urbandale, Iowa)
  • Kurt Meyer (St. Ansgar, Iowa)
  • Craig Pfantz (State Center, Iowa)
  • Roy Reiman (Greendale, Wisconsin)
  • Sue Robinson (Mechanicsville, Iowa)
  • Jack Smith (Epworth, Iowa)
  • Craig Stephens (Pleasantville, Iowa)
  • Steve Sukup (Clear Lake, Iowa)
  • Kelly Tobin (Ames, Iowa)

County Representatives

County representatives promote the preservation of barns in their area through Iowa Barn Foundation programs and membership.  Key responsibilities include actively responding to inquiries by phone/email, assisting with barn tour organization/promotion, and providing in-person visits to barns to assist with grant/award programs.  We are actively seeking volunteers for several counties who are passionate about barns and enjoy helping others.  If interested, please contact our county representatives coordinator, Craig Stephens, at 515-681-1009 or


County Representatives

Allamakee: Marlene Fenstermann, 563-382-3439,

Allamakee:  Jim Palmer, 563-419-1736,

Audubon:  Bob & Janet Nelson, 712-304-5809,,

Benton:  Wayne Frost, 319-427-3531,

Black Hawk:  Wayne Frost, 319-427-3531,

Boone:  Steve Rimathe, 515-290-5258,

Bremer:  Wayne Frost, 319-427-3531, (Seeking Volunteer)

Buchanan:  Wayne Frost, 319-427-3531,

Buena Vista:  Becky Bryant, 712-213-0598,

Butler:  Wayne Frost, 319-427-3531,

Calhoun:  Larry Ellis , 712-210-0423,

Calhoun:  Deann Haden, 515-571-7196,

Carroll:  Kent Brant, 712-830-2241,

Cerro Gordo:  Dale & Judy Mills, 641-420-9227,

Cherokee:  Becky Bryant, 712-213-0598,

Clarke:  Ginnie Hargis & Ron McBroom, 515-834-2026,

Clay:  Kelli Ireland, 507-320-0542,

Clinton:  Travis Mueller, 563-506-9295,

Crawford:  Don Poggensee, 712-369-3454, (Seeking Volunteer)

Delaware:  John Heffernen, 563-920-5826,

Des Moines:  Jeff Taeger, 319-759-5722,

Dubuque:  Jack Smith, 563-599-3061,

Emmet:  Terrence Jensen, 515-230-8972,

Floyd:  Barbara Brown, 641-756-3552,

Greene:   Mary Richards, 515-386-4750,

Guthrie:  Kent Brant, 712-830-2241,

Hamilton:  Ron Adams, 515-368-1678,

Hancock:  Thomas Chizek, 641-430-4456,

Hardin:  Stephen Kahl, 972-467-2354,

Harrison:  Anna Brantz-Buckingham, 402-651-7018,

Ida:  Don Poggensee, 712-369-3454,

Iowa:  Bonnie Winslow-Garvin, (319) 360-4832,

Jackson:  Caroline Bredekamp, h)563-689-4970 c)563-689-3581,

Jasper:  Tyler Wilhelm, 402-525-1833,

Johnson:  Wilford Yoder, 319-338-6596, (Seeking Replacement)

Jones:  David McDonald, 319-389-4437,

Lee:  Brian Foecke, 319-470-0329,

Linn:  David McDonald, 319-389-4437,

Louisa:  Travis Mueller, 563-506-9295,

Madison:  Ginnie Hargis & Ron McBroom, 515-834-2026,

Mahaska:  Charles Oldham, 641-969-4272,

Marion:  Craig & Shiela Stephens, 515-681-1009,

Marshall:  Rod & Kristi Hassler, 641-750-4946 (c) 641-753-3276,,

Mills:  Anna Brantz-Buckingham, 402-651-7018,

Monona:  Peggy Hanner, 712-251-0405,

Montgomery:  Montgomery County Historical Society, 712-623-2289,

Muscatine:  Kas Kelly, 563-260-0869,

O’Brien:  Joe Ascherl, 712-212-4247,

Osceola:  Carrie Jones, 712-832-3227,

Pocahontas:  Terry Ferguson, 712-845-4978,

Polk:  Ober Anderson, 515-964-0964,

Pottawattamie:  Anna Brantz-Buckingham, 402-651-7018,

Poweshiek:  Bonnie Winslow-Garvin, (319) 360-4832,

Sac:  Jack & Jane Hogue, 712-668-4663,

Scott:  Travis Mueller, 563-506-9295,

Shelby:  Dennis & Linda Heflin, 712-579-1943,

Sioux:  Ron & Nance Vos, 712-203-8703,

Story:  Steve Rimathe, 515-290-5258,

Tama:  Rod & Kristi Hassler, 641-750-4946 (c) 641-753-3276,

Warren:  Craig & Shiela Stephens, 515-681-1009,

Washington:  Brad Marek, 319-430-1077,

Webster:  Deann Haden, 515-571-7196,

Winneshiek:  Marlene Fenstermann, 563-382-3439,

Winneshiek:  Jim Palmer, 563-419-1736,

Woodbury:  Peggy Hanner, 712-251-0405,

Counties Without A Representative

Adair, Adams, Adams, Appanoose, Cass, Cedar, Chickasaw, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Dickinson, Fayette, Franklin, Freemont, Grundy, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Jefferson, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lucas, Lyon, Mitchell, Monroe, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne, Winnebago, Worth, Wright